ANZAC Day 2020

Message from Castle Hill RSL sub-Branch President

Although this year’s ANZAC Day commemoration looks very different to what we are used to, it’s warming to see such an overwhelming connection in our community with ANZACS – past and present. 


I am encouraging everyone to commemorate this very important day by participating in the “Light up the Dawn Initiative”, this is a brief service starting at 6am where you can stand in your driveway or on your balcony to hold a candle and remember all those who served, who are currently serving and have sacrificed. Please send photos to


The ABC will be broadcasting a 5.30am service from the Australian War Memorial in Canberra. There will also be a 10am closed service from Sydney that will be broadcast on ABC (download the Order of Service). Both services will also be streamed live on the RSL NSW Facebook page.


The Castle Hill RSL Club and Castle Hill RSL sub-Branch have been working to develop an ANZAC Activity Pack. This pack has been designed to encourage the younger generation to get involved in commemorating ANZAC Day. It talks about the meaning of ANZAC Day, has a wreath and poppies to colour in, find a word puzzle and lots more. Click on this link to access the Activity page. ANZAC Day Activities.


This year, we are grateful to Mayor Dr Michelle Byrne for her ANZAC Day Address, along with our ANZAC Secondary School Ambassadors – 

  • Lillian White from Crestwood High, 

  • Alejandro Astudillo from Oakhill College, 

  • Max Williams from Northholm Grammar 

  • Tahlee Arthur from Castle Hill High School and 

  • Sureka Jeyakanthan from Baulkham Hills High (reciting the ODE)


The addresses will be streamed via the Castle Hill RSL Club and Castle Hill RSL sub-Branch facebook pages at 08:00, 15:00 and the just the ode at sunset (17:21).


While we are commemorating ANZAC Day, please remember the following members who lost their lives during the past 12 months.


  • Dennis Feltham

  • Brian McFadden

  • Robert Geelan

  • John Dorahy

  • Robert Adcock

  • John West

  • Roger Woodorth

  • George Sweeney

  • Robert Johnston

  • Ernest Curtis

  • Peter O’Brien

  • Harry Jones

  • John MacArthur

  • Peter Bond

  • Paul Lippman

  • Anthony Jones

  • David Burke



We will remember them


Lest We Forget





David Hand


Castle Hill & Districts RSL sub-Branch